“Mutlu- it means happy in Turkish”

TurkeyRugs-Bazaar

‘My name is “Mutlu” – it means happy in Turkish,’ my driver said to me, after presenting me with a gift. I had spent less than 60 minutes with him across two different days- when he picked me up from the airport and when he dropped me off. But we connected. I asked him a lot of questions about culture and current events, all of which he answered openly and willingly. My 60 minutes of conversation with Mutlu beautifully illustrates my time in Turkey: short but meaningful, and over all too soon.

Ankara, in photos:

ViewofAnkara
Snow-topped view of Ankara from Ankara Kalesi
TurkeyRugs-Bazaar
Old Bazaar
Turkish-Baklava-Cafe
“The best baklava in Ankara” – Turkish Tea and Baklava at Mado Cafe, best when shared with good company
TurkeyAntik-Antiques_Ankara
Aslant Antik – Antiques storefront in Ankara
TurkishBagels-StreetBakery
Ankara “Bagels” – the baker, passing by on the street, took the tray off of his head to serve them up
Ankara-Turkey-Evil-Eye
Evil Eye
10 thoughts on ““Mutlu- it means happy in Turkish”

Leave a Reply

